Latest WhatsApp update prevents being added to groups without consenting

WhatsApp is the biggest messaging app in the world, registering over 300 million active users every day. The truth is, everybody likes WhatsApp: It features a clean and intuitive user interface that is easy for anybody to get acquainted to, while also being extremely fast and reliable.

The new feature

If you use WhatsApp, chances are that you probably wounded up in a group chat that you’ve never heard about nor you want to be part of because somebody added you at some point. It used to get really frustrating when a cascade of notifications simply invaded your phone’s notification bar. Thankfully, the latest update of WhatsApp gives users the option to choose whether they consent to be added to a new group or not.

In order to enable the option, users have to go through the privacy settings of the app, where they can find three options for who they want to be able to add them to groups: “Everyone”, “My Contacts” and “My Contacts Except…”. The names are self explanatory, just like they should be. 

The update was first released in India the previous month but now it’s available for WhatsApp users worldwide.

Other updates

This update is part of a larger chain of recent updates that added various new and useful features to the messaging app.

An update introduced earlier this week lets users watch videos from Netflix from within the app, just like they can watch Facebook or YouTube videos. However, at the moment, the feature is only available for iPhones.

Another interesting recent update featured biometric security support which allows users to secure the app with a fingerprint in order to boost safety and privacy.

 

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *